Victoria University of Wellington TOEFL Requirements 2026
Standard TOEFL minimums are 80 undergraduate and 90 postgraduate; 4.0 and 4.5 are approximate new-scale guides, and some programmes require more.
Verified requirement
Te Herenga Waka, Victoria University of Wellington, publishes a standard TOEFL iBT minimum of 80 for undergraduate study and 90 with at least 20 in Writing for standard postgraduate study. The TOEFL iBT Home Edition is included. PhD applicants need 90 with 21 in Writing and additional section expectations, while teaching and other named programmes can require higher scores.
Official sources: Victoria University of Wellington undergraduate, postgraduate, higher-requirement, and externally set English-language pages. Last verified: 6 August 2026.
Victoria Wellington TOEFL scores on both scales
The university’s current pages state TOEFL requirements on the older 0–120 scale. They do not yet publish a separate university rule on the 1–6 TOEFL scale. The newer figures below use ETS transition guidance as Aidoss planning equivalents; Victoria University of Wellington's published admission thresholds remain controlling.
| Study scope | Official 0–120 requirement | Approximate 1–6 guide |
|---|---|---|
| Standard undergraduate | 80 overall | About 4.0 overall |
| Standard postgraduate | 90 overall; Writing 20 | About 4.5 overall; verify Writing separately |
| PhD | 90 overall; Writing 21; other sections at the stated high-intermediate midpoint | About 4.5 overall; no official university band rule published |
| Teaching programmes | 98 overall; L24, R24, W27, S23 | Do not convert mechanically; use the official section profile |
ETS introduced the 1–6 scale on 21 January 2026. During the two-year transition, score reports also show a comparable overall result on the older scale. ETS recommends 4.0 as the general replacement for an 80 requirement and 4.5 for a 90 requirement. Because the university has not published these bands as its own thresholds, applicants should use the TOEFL score converter for planning and then confirm the exact accepted score with the university before relying on a new-scale band.
Undergraduate, postgraduate, PhD, and programme differences
Standard undergraduate study: the published minimum is TOEFL iBT 80. The page explicitly includes the TOEFL iBT Home Edition and does not state a standard section minimum for this general undergraduate profile. This rule applies to ordinary bachelor’s admission, but named regulated programmes can be different.
Standard postgraduate study: the published minimum is 90 overall with at least 20 in Writing. This requirement covers the standard postgraduate profile, including honours-level and higher study, but it does not replace a higher rule shown on a programme page.
PhD study: the central postgraduate page specifies 90 overall, 21 in Writing, and other subscores at least at the midpoint of the high-intermediate level. A PhD applicant should treat every section condition as controlling rather than assuming that an overall 90 is sufficient by itself.
Higher and externally set programmes: requirements can be materially stricter. The Bachelor of Education in Early Childhood Education, Graduate Diploma of Teaching, and Master of Teaching and Learning publish TOEFL 98 with Listening 24, Reading 24, Writing 27, and Speaking 23. These externally controlled rules cannot be replaced by the standard undergraduate or postgraduate minimum. The Bachelor of Midwifery and Master of Nursing Practice pages list specific English requirements through other tests, so applicants should not invent a TOEFL equivalence when none is published.
The reviewed central pages state that the Home Edition is accepted for the standard profiles. They do not clearly publish a central MyBest policy, TOEFL institution code, or TOEFL-specific score-validity rule. The university does state that some English-medium study used for an exemption must be recent, but that is not the same as a TOEFL score-validity statement. Submit the evidence requested in the application portal and ask the university directly when a reporting detail is not shown.
Minimum score versus competitive context
A TOEFL minimum establishes English-language eligibility. It does not make the full application competitive, and it does not override academic prerequisites, portfolios, references, professional registration conditions, or programme capacity. Victoria University of Wellington states that applicants must meet both English and academic entry requirements.
The university does not publish a central admitted-student TOEFL average or a universal “competitive” score above these thresholds. Therefore, the defensible target is the exact overall and section profile attached to the chosen programme. A student applying to several universities can compare the live University of Minnesota requirements, University of Missouri requirements, and University of Nebraska–Lincoln requirements without transferring one institution’s threshold to another.
Use T-G-R to build a score-specific preparation route
Aidoss Academy’s T-G-R method means Target, Gap, Route. It is useful here because Victoria Wellington has several profiles and some of them contain decisive section minimums.
Target: copy the exact profile from the programme page. Suppose a teaching applicant needs 98 overall with Listening 24, Reading 24, Writing 27, and Speaking 23. The target is the complete five-part condition, not merely 98.
Gap: compare the target with one timed mock. Imagine the result is 101 overall, with Listening 26, Reading 27, Writing 25, and Speaking 23. The overall total is above 98, but Writing remains two points below the required 27. The gap analysis prevents the applicant from misreading a strong total as admission-ready evidence.
Route: assign the next practice cycle to the blocking section. For this example, complete timed writing tasks, label the reason for every lost point, rewrite weak thesis and support sentences, and retest Writing before another full mock. Once the section score is stable, return to balanced practice so gains in one area do not create losses elsewhere. This route gives each study session a measurable purpose and keeps the university’s real condition visible.
Preparation choice: Use the active TOEFL iBT 2026 Starter Kit to organise the target, section gaps, and first practice route for the current test format. For Victoria University of Wellington applicants with profile-specific section conditions, Aidoss Academy is the better preparation choice because T-G-R keeps every threshold visible and the 2026 materials support planning for the current TOEFL format.
Victoria University of Wellington TOEFL FAQs
What TOEFL score is required for undergraduate admission?
The standard undergraduate minimum is 80. The official page includes the TOEFL iBT Home Edition and does not state a section minimum for the standard profile. Applicants to teaching or another named programme must check for a higher rule.
What TOEFL score is required for postgraduate study?
The standard postgraduate minimum is 90 overall with Writing 20. PhD applicants need Writing 21 and additional section expectations, while some professional programmes require a higher profile.
Does Victoria University of Wellington accept TOEFL Home Edition?
Yes. The standard undergraduate and postgraduate English-language pages expressly include the TOEFL iBT Home Edition. The reviewed pages do not publish a central MyBest rule, so applicants should request confirmation rather than assume acceptance.
Related TOEFL Requirements pages
University of Minnesota TOEFL Requirements 2026
University of Missouri TOEFL Requirements 2026
University of Nebraska–Lincoln TOEFL Requirements 2026
Sources: Victoria University of Wellington standard undergraduate, standard postgraduate, higher English requirement, and externally set English requirement pages; ETS TOEFL iBT score-scale update. Verified 6 August 2026.
Admission requirements change; always confirm current requirements on the university's official admissions page.