University of Tasmania TOEFL Requirements 2026: Scores by Course Level
The University of Tasmania uses different TOEFL profiles for standard undergraduate study, standard postgraduate coursework and several professionally regulated or language-intensive courses. Your exact course page is the final authority, because a score that meets the general minimum may still be below the requirement for nursing, medicine, social work, psychology or another named programme.
Requirement check: July 26, 2026
The standard undergraduate TOEFL iBT requirement is 72 overall, with Reading 10, Listening 9, Speaking 16 and Writing 19. The standard postgraduate coursework requirement is also 72 overall, but the section minimums are higher: Reading 16, Listening 16, Speaking 18 and Writing 22. Confirm the current profile on the official University of Tasmania English requirements page.
University of Tasmania TOEFL score table
| Study level | Official 0-120 requirement | Approximate 1-6 planning reference |
|---|---|---|
| Foundation | 46 overall, no skill below 10 | Use the ETS converter; Tasmania does not publish a 1-6 replacement here |
| Standard undergraduate | 72 overall; R10, L9, S16, W19 | Approximately 3.5 overall for planning only |
| Standard postgraduate coursework | 72 overall; R16, L16, S18, W22 | Approximately 3.5 overall for planning only |
The approximate 1-6 figures are not University of Tasmania admission thresholds. ETS introduced the 1-6 scale on January 21, 2026 and recommends broad overall comparisons such as 70 to 3.5, 80 to 4.0, 90 to 4.5 and 100 to 5.0. During the transition, score reports also provide a comparable 0-120 overall result. Use the Aidoss Academy TOEFL score converter for planning, then match the score shown on your report to the university's current instructions.
Undergraduate and postgraduate distinctions
The overall minimum of 72 can make the undergraduate and postgraduate rules look identical, but the section profiles are not the same. A postgraduate applicant needs stronger minimum results in every skill, especially Writing at 22. For example, an applicant with 75 overall and Writing 20 may satisfy the standard undergraduate profile but not the standard postgraduate coursework profile.
Higher-threshold courses must be checked separately. The university lists several profiles above the standard minimum. Examples include 88 overall for a number of courses, 88 with 21 in each section for some ageing and dementia programmes, 94 with higher section scores for social work, and 100 with demanding section minimums for medicine and exercise and sport science. Nursing, clinical pharmacy, health protection and professional or clinical psychology also publish their own combinations.
Do not treat the general score as a competitive target. It is an eligibility threshold. The university does not state that exceeding it by a particular number improves admission chances, and academic selection may depend on grades, prerequisites, professional standards and available places. A sensible target is the exact course minimum plus enough margin to protect against one weak section, not an invented competitive score.
Test format, MyBest and score validity
- Validity: English-language evidence is generally valid for two years.
- MyBest or combined scores: The university considers them case by case. The Bachelor of Education and Master of Teaching do not accept combined scores.
- Restricted test dates: TOEFL iBT tests completed from July 26, 2023 through May 4, 2024 are not accepted under the current central policy.
- Home Edition: The central page reviewed does not state a university-wide rule. Confirm acceptance with admissions for your course before booking an at-home test.
- Reporting: No central institution-code instruction was verified on the reviewed requirements page. Follow the evidence-upload or official-score instructions provided in your application portal and course guidance.
A practical Aidoss method step
Use the support check from Aidoss Academy's C-L-A-I-M method: after stating an answer, add one precise reason or example that directly proves it. This prevents a speaking or writing response from remaining general.
Weak response: “Universities should provide more study spaces because they are useful.”
Improved response: “Universities should provide more study spaces because commuting students often have several hours between classes. A quiet room lets them complete reading assignments on campus instead of losing that time.”
The improvement is not extra length for its own sake. The second version connects the claim to a specific student situation and consequence. Practise this check with one response at a time, then review whether the example actually supports the claim.
Use the free Aidoss Academy TOEFL readiness check to identify the skill that needs attention first, then use the live TOEFL iBT 2026 Starter Kit for a task map, quick diagnostic and seven-day plan across all four skills. The Essentials Edition is available for $0, while the Complete Digital Edition adds the full screen and printable workbook for $9.
University of Tasmania TOEFL FAQs
What TOEFL score does the University of Tasmania require for undergraduate study?
The standard profile is 72 overall, with Reading 10, Listening 9, Speaking 16 and Writing 19. Some courses require higher totals and sections.
Is the postgraduate minimum also 72?
Yes for standard postgraduate coursework, but the section minimums rise to Reading 16, Listening 16, Speaking 18 and Writing 22. Many professional programmes use higher profiles.
Does Tasmania accept MyBest scores?
Combined scores are considered case by case. They are not accepted for the Bachelor of Education or Master of Teaching.
How long are TOEFL scores valid?
The university generally requires English-language evidence obtained within the previous two years. Check timing against your intended intake and application instructions.
Related Australian TOEFL requirements
- RMIT University TOEFL requirements
- Macquarie University TOEFL requirements
- University of Technology Sydney TOEFL requirements
Browse the TOEFL Requirements index for more university-specific policies.
Sources checked July 26, 2026: University of Tasmania English language requirements and international application guidance; ETS official 2026 score-scale transition guidance.
Admission requirements change; always confirm current requirements on the university's official admissions page.