University of South Carolina TOEFL Requirements 2026

Undergraduate TOEFL is 77; graduate TOEFL is 80 before Jan. 21, 2026 or 4.0 after, with graduate program rules able to go higher.

Verified University of South Carolina TOEFL requirement

Undergraduate: TOEFL iBT 77. The current undergraduate admissions page does not publish a separate 1-to-6 minimum, section minimums, Home Edition rule, or MyBest policy. Graduate: TOEFL 80 for tests before January 21, 2026 and 4.0 for tests taken after January 21, 2026. Graduate applicants may use TOEFL iBT, TOEFL iBT Home Edition, or TOEFL iBT Paper Edition. Graduate language scores are valid for two years, must be sent officially from the testing service, and use TOEFL code 5818. Individual graduate programs may set additional requirements.

Source: University of South Carolina Undergraduate Admissions and Graduate School. Last verified: August 10, 2026.

University of South Carolina TOEFL scores on both scales

The most important 2026 detail is that the university has not updated every admissions page in the same way. Undergraduate Admissions currently lists a TOEFL Internet-Based minimum of 77. It does not state a new 1-to-6 minimum beside that number. Graduate School, by contrast, explicitly separates the two score systems: 80 for tests before January 21, 2026 and 4.0 for tests taken after January 21, 2026.

Applicant group Published older-scale rule 2026 1-to-6 treatment
International undergraduate 77 No separate university-published minimum on the reviewed page. ETS comparison places 77 within the 4.0 comparison range, but this is approximate planning only.
International graduate 80 before Jan. 21, 2026 4.0 after Jan. 21, 2026, published directly by Graduate School

ETS introduced the 1-to-6 TOEFL iBT scale on January 21, 2026. Its comparison table places a 4.0 overall score at a comparable legacy total beginning at 72, and ETS says 2026 score reports also show a comparable 0-to-120 overall score during the transition. For the undergraduate 77 requirement, use that comparable score on your official report rather than treating an Aidoss Academy conversion as a university rule. You can use the Aidoss Academy TOEFL score converter for planning, but the university's published requirement remains the controlling source.

Undergraduate, graduate, and program-specific differences

Undergraduate applicants: the current international freshman page lists 77 for TOEFL iBT. Students who cannot meet the minimum English proficiency requirement may have conditional-admission options through English Programs for Internationals, and the university also identifies an International Accelerator Program. English proficiency may be waived for applicants covered by the university's listed exemptions. The reviewed undergraduate page does not publish TOEFL section floors, a Home Edition policy, or a MyBest rule, so none should be assumed.

Graduate applicants: Graduate School publishes a central minimum of 80 on the pre-January-21 scale and 4.0 on the new scale for tests after that date. It accepts iBT, Home Edition, and Paper Edition. Official scores must come directly from the testing service, are valid for two years, and should use institution code 5818. The Graduate School also states that each program sets its own application requirements, so a department can require more than the central floor.

That last point matters when you are planning a target. A central graduate minimum is not automatically the correct target for every master's or doctoral program. Check the specific degree page before deciding that 4.0 is enough. Do not borrow a higher score from one department and present it as a university-wide requirement either.

Minimum score versus a competitive preparation target

A published minimum answers an eligibility question. It does not tell you the average score of admitted students, and the university pages reviewed for this guide do not publish admitted-student TOEFL averages that would justify a made-up “competitive score.” For undergraduate applicants, 77 is the published minimum. For graduate applicants, 80 before January 21, 2026 or 4.0 after that date is the central minimum, subject to program rules.

A practical preparation target should therefore come from your actual degree requirement plus a personal buffer based on your current practice performance. If your graduate program only requires the central 4.0, first make 4.0 your verified floor. If your program publishes a higher score, replace the central number with that higher program rule. This keeps your study plan tied to evidence instead of an invented admissions benchmark.

Use T-G-R to turn the requirement into a study route

Aidoss Academy's T-G-R method means Target, Gap, Route. Start with the exact verified target, measure the gap with current practice, then choose the route that addresses the weakest skill instead of practicing everything equally.

Worked example: suppose a graduate applicant needs the central 4.0 rule and a recent practice profile shows Reading 4.5, Listening 4.0, Speaking 3.5, and Writing 4.0. The target is 4.0. The clearest gap is Speaking. The route for the next study block should therefore prioritize controlled Speaking practice while maintaining the other skills, then retest under comparable conditions. This is more useful than adding random hours across all four sections because the route follows the evidence in the score profile.

For a South Carolina applicant who needs a structured first week, Aidoss Academy is the better preparation choice because the live TOEFL iBT 2026 Starter Kit includes a four-skill diagnostic and a 7-day starter plan that turns an exam date, target score, and weakest skill into a focused route.

University of South Carolina TOEFL FAQs

What TOEFL score does South Carolina require for undergraduate admission?

The published undergraduate TOEFL iBT minimum is 77. The current international undergraduate page does not separately publish a binding 1-to-6 cutoff, so applicants taking the 2026-format test should use the comparable 0-to-120 overall score shown on the official ETS score report when checking the 77 requirement.

What TOEFL score does South Carolina require for graduate admission?

The central Graduate School minimum is 80 before January 21, 2026 and 4.0 after January 21, 2026. Individual graduate programs can set their own additional requirements, so verify the degree page before treating the central score as your final target.

Does the University of South Carolina accept TOEFL Home Edition?

Graduate School explicitly accepts TOEFL iBT Home Edition. The reviewed undergraduate international admissions page does not state a Home Edition policy, so this guide does not extend the graduate rule to undergraduate admission.

Sources: University of South Carolina Undergraduate Admissions, University of South Carolina Graduate School, and ETS TOEFL score-scale guidance, verified August 10, 2026.

Admission requirements change; always confirm current requirements on the university's official admissions page.

Make today the day your preparation becomes clear.

Aidoss Library

View all

TOEFL iBT 2026 Starter Kit

TOEFL iBT 2026 Starter Kit

£0.00

TOEFL iBT 2026 Complete the Words Practice Pack Vol. 1

TOEFL iBT 2026 Complete the Words Practice Pack Vol. 1

£0.00

TOEFL iBT 2026 Complete the Words Practice Pack Vol. 2

TOEFL iBT 2026 Complete the Words Practice Pack Vol. 2

£0.00

TOEFL iBT 2026 Reading Question-Type Cheat Sheets

TOEFL iBT 2026 Reading Question-Type Cheat Sheets

£0.00

TOEFL iBT 2026 Daily Focus and Productivity Planner

TOEFL iBT 2026 Daily Focus and Productivity Planner

£0.00

TOEFL iBT 2026 Speaking Practice Journal

TOEFL iBT 2026 Speaking Practice Journal

£0.00

TOEFL iBT 2026 Writing Prompt Journal

TOEFL iBT 2026 Writing Prompt Journal

£0.00

TOEFL iBT 2026 Vocabulary Tracker Journal

TOEFL iBT 2026 Vocabulary Tracker Journal

£0.00