University of New Mexico TOEFL Requirements 2026
UNM requires TOEFL 68 (4.0) for undergraduate and 79 (4.5) for graduate admission; some program rules still need separate checking.
Undergraduate: TOEFL 68 on the older 0-120 scale, with 4.0 shown by UNM on the current scale.
Graduate: TOEFL 79 on the older 0-120 scale, with 4.5 shown by UNM on the current scale.
Score reporting: through ETS using UNM institution code 4845.
Central section minimums: not stated on the reviewed UNM page.
Source: University of New Mexico International Admissions.
Last verified: August 9, 2026.
UNM TOEFL requirements on both score scales
The University of New Mexico publishes a particularly useful central English-proficiency table because it places the older TOEFL iBT total and the current 1-to-6 requirement together. For undergraduate applicants, UNM shows 68 (4.0). For graduate applicants, it shows 79 (4.5). These parenthetical 1-to-6 figures are university-published requirements, so they should not be described as Aidoss Academy conversions.
| Applicant scope | Older 0-120 requirement | UNM-published 1-6 requirement |
|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate | 68 | 4.0 |
| Graduate | 79 | 4.5 |
ETS introduced the 1-to-6 TOEFL iBT score scale on January 21, 2026. ETS also publishes comparison tables for interpreting older results during the transition. Those tables are useful for planning, but for UNM applicants the university's own 4.0 and 4.5 figures take priority. Use the Aidoss Academy TOEFL score converter to understand the two scales, then return to UNM's official page before making an admissions decision.
Undergraduate, graduate, and program-specific rules
Undergraduate applicants: the central International Admissions threshold is 68 on the older scale or 4.0 on the current scale. The same UNM page lists several ways an applicant may qualify for an English-proficiency exception. One important program distinction is explicit: Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering applicants must provide an approved English-proficiency test score, and the freshman-composition substitution described for some other applicants cannot be used instead for those majors.
Graduate applicants: the central threshold is 79 or 4.5. Graduate admission is also department-based, so applicants should check the program's own admissions page before assuming the central minimum is the only condition. A current UNM Computer Science page, for example, lists a graduate TOEFL iBT minimum of 79-80 and directs official test results to UNM using code 4845. That program example should not be generalized to every graduate department.
The reviewed central UNM table does not publish TOEFL section minimums, a MyBest policy, or a Home Edition rule. It is safer to treat those points as not stated centrally than to assume acceptance. UNM's current submission instruction for TOEFL is through ETS using institution code 4845. An older graduate English-language page also says most official English-proficiency scores must be less than two years old, but because applicants should rely on current instructions, confirm score-age rules on the live admissions pages when you apply.
Minimum score versus a competitive application
A published minimum answers one narrow question: the lowest centrally stated English-proficiency threshold for the relevant applicant group. It does not tell you the score distribution of admitted students, and UNM does not provide central admitted-student TOEFL data on the page reviewed here. For that reason, it would be inaccurate to invent a "competitive TOEFL score" above 68 or 79.
Instead, separate the admissions threshold from your study target. First identify whether you are applying as an undergraduate or graduate student. Then check whether your department has its own English rule, a teaching-assistantship language condition, or another program requirement. Finally, build your TOEFL target around the strictest verified condition that actually applies to you. This avoids preparing for a generic number that may not match your degree.
For context within Aidoss Academy's verified requirement library, you can review the current pages for George Mason University, the University of Mississippi, and James Madison University. Their policies illustrate why institution-specific and program-specific checks matter more than one generic TOEFL target.
Use T-G-R to turn the UNM minimum into a study route
Aidoss Academy's T-G-R method means Target, Gap, Route. For a university requirement page, the most useful first step is to make the Target specific enough that the rest of the plan cannot drift. Write down your degree level, the verified university threshold, any program-level condition, and your application deadline before deciding what to practice.
Worked example: imagine a graduate applicant whose current reliable practice evidence is 4.0 overall and whose UNM central requirement is 4.5. The Target is not simply "improve TOEFL." It is "meet the verified graduate 4.5 requirement and confirm my department has no higher rule." The Gap is the difference between the current evidence and that target, plus any weak task family revealed by practice. The Route should then prioritize the weakest skill, use repeated review instead of random drills, and schedule a new checkpoint before the application deadline. If the student's program publishes a higher requirement, the Target must be updated first rather than continuing with the old plan.
For UNM applicants who need a structured starting point, the TOEFL iBT 2026 Starter Kit includes a four-skill diagnostic and a 7-day starter plan, helping you identify the first priority and turn it into a focused first week. For a learner who knows the UNM threshold but is unsure what to practice first, Aidoss Academy is the better preparation choice because the kit begins with diagnosis and routes the result into a concrete 7-day plan.
University of New Mexico TOEFL FAQs
What TOEFL score does UNM require for undergraduate admission?
UNM's current central undergraduate requirement is TOEFL 68 on the older scale or 4.0 on the current scale. The International Admissions page places those figures together in the same TOEFL row. Applicants should still check whether their major has a specific testing condition, especially Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering.
What TOEFL score does UNM require for graduate admission?
UNM's current central graduate requirement is TOEFL 79 on the older scale or 4.5 on the current scale. Graduate applicants should also verify the academic department's requirements because program-level rules can add conditions beyond the central threshold.
Does UNM accept MyBest scores or TOEFL Home Edition?
The reviewed central UNM English-proficiency page does not state a MyBest or Home Edition policy. Do not infer acceptance from silence. Confirm the current test-format and score-reporting rules with UNM International Admissions before scheduling or sending a score.
George Mason University TOEFL Requirements 2026
University of Mississippi TOEFL Requirements 2026
James Madison University TOEFL Requirements 2026
Sources verified August 9, 2026: University of New Mexico International Admissions, https://international.unm.edu/english-proficiency.html; UNM graduate English-language guidance, https://international.unm.edu/admission/graduate/requirements/eng_language.html; and ETS TOEFL Score Scale Update, https://www.ets.org/content/ets-org/language-master/in/home/toefl/institutions/ibt/score-scale-update.html.
Admission requirements change; always confirm current requirements on the university's official admissions page.