UC San Diego TOEFL Requirements 2026
UC San Diego requires TOEFL 4.5 for current tests. Earlier minimums are 83 undergraduate and 85 graduate; some programs require more.
Verified UC San Diego Requirement
- Current-scale minimum: 4.5 for undergraduate applicants and the university-wide graduate minimum.
- Earlier TOEFL iBT minimum: 83 undergraduate and 85 graduate for tests under the previous scale.
- Section minimums: UC San Diego does not publish university-wide section floors on the cited central pages.
- Graduate MyBest policy: MyBest scores are not accepted.
- Program differences: Graduate departments may require scores above the university-wide minimum.
- Last verified: July 22, 2026, using the official undergraduate admissions and graduate admissions pages.
How the requirement works on both TOEFL score scales
UC San Diego has published current-scale requirements rather than leaving applicants to estimate them. For tests using the 1–6 TOEFL scale, the central undergraduate page lists 4.5, and the Graduate Division also lists 4.5 as its university-wide minimum. The older requirements are not identical: undergraduate admissions lists 83, while graduate admissions lists 85.
That difference matters when you read an older score report or a program page that still uses the 0–120 format. Use the requirement tied to your degree level and test date. Do not replace UC San Diego's published 4.5 with a private conversion or assume that the undergraduate 83 automatically applies to graduate study.
| Applicant group | Current 1–6 scale | Earlier 0–120 scale | Important note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate | 4.5 | 83 | Use the rule that matches the test date shown by UC San Diego. |
| Graduate | 4.5 | 85 | Individual programs may set a higher minimum. |
ETS introduced the 1–6 scale in 0.5 bands for tests beginning January 21, 2026. During the transition, official reports also show a comparable 0–120 overall score. The Aidoss Academy TOEFL score converter can help you understand the two displays, but UC San Diego's own admissions pages remain the controlling source.
A comparable old-scale number is not a new university policy. It is a reporting aid. Applicants should submit the official report requested by the university and evaluate eligibility against the exact undergraduate, graduate, or departmental wording that applies to them.
Undergraduate, graduate, and program rules are different
Undergraduate international applicants currently need a TOEFL score of 4.5. The official page also lists 83 for exams completed before the current scale took effect. UC San Diego states that English-proficiency examinations must be no more than two years old, so an otherwise sufficient score can still become unusable if it falls outside the permitted age.
Graduate applicants face a central Graduate Division minimum of 4.5, or 85 under the previous score format. This is a floor for university-level eligibility, not a promise that every department will accept the same number. UC San Diego explicitly notes that some graduate programs require higher English-proficiency scores.
The safest sequence is therefore university rule first, program rule second. A graduate applicant should check the Graduate Division page, then the specific department's admissions page, and use the stricter requirement when the two differ. The department can also specify additional evidence, deadlines, or test-reporting instructions.
UC San Diego's central pages do not publish university-wide TOEFL section minimums for these applicant groups. That absence should not be turned into a claim that sections never matter. A program may set its own standard, and a low section result can still affect readiness for coursework even when the overall score clears the central minimum.
Graduate applicants should also note that UC San Diego does not accept MyBest scores. The qualifying result must therefore satisfy the applicable rule without combining section scores from different test dates. Undergraduate MyBest treatment is not stated on the cited central undergraduate page, so applicants who plan to rely on it should request written confirmation rather than assume the graduate policy applies in either direction.
How competitive is UC San Diego really?
The published TOEFL number is an admissions requirement, not a complete description of admission competitiveness. Meeting 4.5 establishes that the applicant satisfies the central English-proficiency threshold for the relevant current-scale route. It does not compensate for academic preparation, required coursework, grades, statements, recommendations, or program-specific selection criteria.
UC San Diego's central admissions sources do not publish a universal 'competitive TOEFL score' above the minimum for every applicant. For that reason, a responsible target should begin with the official minimum and then add only the requirements that can be verified for the selected program. Inventing a higher university-wide target would make planning look precise while weakening its factual basis.
A graduate department that publishes a higher TOEFL minimum changes the target immediately. In that case, the department's number is not an optional advantage; it is the applicable threshold. Applicants should save the department URL and the date checked because program wording can change between test registration and the application deadline.
Students comparing California options can also review the verified UC Berkeley TOEFL requirements and UCLA TOEFL requirements. The numbers should not be treated as interchangeable simply because the universities are in the same state or system.
How to prepare for the UC San Diego target
Aidoss Academy uses T-G-R: Target, Gap, Route. Target records the exact verified rule for the degree and program. Gap compares that rule with the current overall and section profile. Route assigns the smallest practical set of drills, reviews, and retests needed to close the identified gap.
Worked example: A graduate applicant confirms a 4.5 university-wide minimum and finds no higher requirement on the chosen department page. The latest diagnostic is 4.0 overall, with Reading 4.5, Listening 4.0, Speaking 4.0, and Writing 3.5. The target is not simply “study more.” The gap is concentrated in Writing, with smaller stability gaps in Listening and Speaking.
The route can give Writing the largest share of the weekly practice time, while preserving the stronger Reading result. Each Writing error should be classified by cause, repaired in a fresh sentence or response, and retested after a delay. Listening and Speaking can receive shorter timed sets focused on consistency. A new full diagnostic then checks whether the overall result has reached 4.5 without allowing a previously stronger section to fall.
If the department later publishes a higher score, the Target step changes before the study plan does. That prevents a student from completing a well-organized plan for the wrong threshold. The method also separates a verified admissions rule from a personal safety margin: the former comes from UC San Diego; the latter is a planning choice.
Start with the free Essentials edition of the TOEFL iBT 2026 Target Score Diagnostic Workbook to record the UC San Diego rule, section profile, and first gap. Use the Complete Digital edition when you need the full target-routing worksheets, repeated diagnostics, and a documented retest plan.
UC San Diego TOEFL FAQ
What TOEFL score does UC San Diego require for undergraduate admission?
UC San Diego lists 4.5 for the current TOEFL scale and 83 for exams completed under the earlier scale. The official undergraduate page should be checked again before submission because requirements can change.
What TOEFL score does UC San Diego require for graduate admission?
The Graduate Division minimum is 4.5 on the current scale or 85 under the previous format. A department may require a higher score, so the program page must also be checked.
Does UC San Diego accept TOEFL MyBest scores?
UC San Diego Graduate Admissions does not accept MyBest scores. The central undergraduate source cited here does not state a MyBest rule, so undergraduate applicants should confirm directly if they intend to use one.
Are there UC San Diego TOEFL section minimums?
The cited central undergraduate and graduate pages do not publish university-wide section minimums. Individual graduate programs can impose additional or higher requirements.
Related TOEFL requirement pages
Continue with the Berkeley requirement guide, the UCLA requirement guide, or browse the full Aidoss Academy TOEFL Requirements index for other universities and countries.
Sources: UC San Diego undergraduate international admissions, UC San Diego Graduate Division English proficiency requirements, UC San Diego graduate test-score FAQ, and ETS TOEFL score-scale update.
Admission requirements change; always confirm current requirements on the university's official admissions page.